Korea In An Instant: Ramyun101

Before getting hooked to Kpop, I am already a follower of Korean dramas and movies. I enjoyed watching Endless Love (Song Hye Kyo xx Song Seung Hun), Boys over Flowers (Lee Min Ho xx Ku Hye Sun), Stairway to Heaven (Kwon Sang Woo xx Choi Ji Woo), Personal Taste (Lee Min Ho xx Son Ye Jin), Full House (Rain xx Song Hye Kyo) and many others.

A glimpse of Korean food is one thing that I anticipate in watching these dramas and movies. That feeling of wanting to know how food in Korea tastes like – ugh, frustrating. What took my attention is the ever famous ramyun, the Korean instant noodles.

What is ramyun?

Ramyun (also known as ramyeon, ramen in Japan, and mami in the Philippines!) is noodle soup that is a must-have in all Asian home-kitchen. It is convenient in a sense that you can prepare the whole meal within 5-10 minutes. Everything you need is sealed (except for the hot water, I guess) in the pack. You can serve it with or without egg, kimchi, meat, etc. Here in the Philippines, it’s called mami and sometimes, they serve it with rice.

I had to admit that some years of curiosity; I finally had the guts of trying them myself. Four years ago, I got to take home some ramyun (thanks to a friend who won in a contest of BEAST Philippines, by the way). Fast fact: I hate spicy food. They leave me crying.

Beast as Ramyun Endorsers
My boys, BEAST, endorsed Shin Ramyun. I think that’s another factor on why I decided to check out this Korean staple food.

According to my research, Shin Ramyeon was first introduced by the manufacturer, Nong Shim, in 1986. It is still very popular in places outside Korea like Japan, U.S., Hong Kong, Taiwan, China and now, the Philippines.

Let me share with you some of the ramyuns that I tried according to how hot and spicy the ramyun is.

20141222_192152

Milk Ramyeon

All anti-fans of the spicy ramyeon can dig this. Totally not spicy! Piece of cake!

ottogi-sesame-ramen-115g20141217_191925

Sesame Ramyeon

It’s spicy, but not so spicy. It’s so-so. TOTALLY LIKED IT.

Sun

Veggie Ramyun

A little more spicy and salty than Sesame Ramyun.

ottogi_jin_ramen_mild-1

Blue Jin Ramyeon
It is less hot but still spicy.

And the most *hot* and *spicy* of the ramyuns I tried…

*drumroll*

P1090936

Shin Ramyun.

I believe there are more ramyuns to try, but these are enough to make me fall in love with it. I learned to like it through thick and thin, hotness or spicyness. If you haven’t try any of these, head on to your supermarket or Korean mart (they are almost everywhere!) and buy your ramyun. Who knows? You might be the next Jang Geum of Philippine Ramyun!

20141219_233810
Because of my strong desire and love for ramyun, I bought my golden casserole. For more Korean feels. 🙂

OVERSHARE

If you’re thinking of trying ramyun now, here’s a quick tutorial!

1. Boil water.

2. Put in the noodles, then the seasoning.
Some people prefer putting the seasoning first and the noodles second. It’s your choice. Either way, it will taste the same.

3. Add on some eggs.
For more texture.

4. Add the meat, seaweed and other spices that you would like to add.

5. Ready to serve!

Tip: Don’t cook now, serve later. From my experience, the noodles sipped the water/soup and became really fat. Unless you’d like your noodles like that, it’s not advisable. 🙂

PS: This is not a paid advertisement.

4 thoughts on “Korea In An Instant: Ramyun101

  1. I love Shin Ramyun!!! My favorite. Available mostly in supermarkets than the other ramyuns you have mentioned.

    And where did you bought that casserole? I’ve been looking for that to feel the same… *feeling Korean* or *feeling nasa Korea* haha. Imaging myself na ginagamit yung takip ng casserole para saluhin yung mahuhulog na sabaw or noodles. Haha xD

    Like

    1. Emyfer Mae

      I bought my casserole at a Korean mart in Ortigas. It comes in 3 sizes ata. This one’s the smallest, btw. They also have the black bowl.

      Diba? Sarap manood ng dramas and movies ng parehas kayo ng kinakainan? Hahaha! Let me know if you were able to buy. 🙂

      Like

  2. Pingback: Korea In An Instant: Ramyun101 | Always 배고파

Leave a Reply

