10 Korean Expressions in Daily Conversations

Korean dramas made a huge impact on my life. It has influenced me in so many ways–from my eating habits to fashion and even in the way I speak. I started from not knowing anything about Korean language such that I had to either Google translate it or ask my Korean friends what words meant for me to understand.

As time went by, my sentence construction has improved differently–I use English and Korean words to deliver what I want to say.

Let me share with you some of the words that I, or maybe you, can use in your Korean-invaded life.

1. Annyeong!

annyeong

Annyeong is from the sentence, ANNYEONG HASEYO (not, “anong sa’yo?”). This means ‘hello’ or ‘goodbye’. Be careful using this expression because this is only used in informal setting. When meeting the elder, or superior to you, use ‘annyeong haseyo’.

PS: Use YEOBOSEYO when answering a phone call.

2. Heol!

heol

Heol is a slang word used in expressing shock, surprise and/or sarcasm.

Example:
Friend: BIGBANG CONCERT WILL BE NEXT WEEK!
You: Heol. I still don’t have tickets yet! TT___TT

3. Jinjja?

jinjja

Jinjja means ‘really’. Jinjja is used in questionning things. Mistakenly said as “chicha”.

not-JINJJA-JINJJANOT THIS.

Example:

Friend: Song Joong Ki is getting discharged in a few days.
You: Jinjja?! Ehhh!!! I can’t wait to see him in a new drama or variety show!

4. Eotteokhae?

eotteokhae

Eotteokhae literally means “what to do?”. Most of the times, non-Korean speakers use this in situations where they really don’t know what to do. In panic, they blurt out this expression.

Example:
Friend: Your crush is right behind your back.
You: OMG. Eotteokhae? Do I look good? Do I have something on my face? Eotteokhae? Eotteokhae? Eotteokhaeeeeeeee?!

5. Omo!

omo

Omo is also used in times of shock. The Korean version of ‘oh my gosh’.

Example:
*watching a movie*omo2
You: OMO! DID YOU SEE THAT?
Friend: …

6. Assa!

assa

The word ‘assa’ is used in conveying achievements. It is synonymous to ‘oh yeah~!’ and ‘all right!’.

Example:
You: Mom, can I go to KCC’s screening of Taeyang‘s concert?
Mom: Uhmm. Okay.
You: ASSA! *fireworks*

PS: Be careful in using this, because assa, in Filipino, can mean negatively (sounds like asa). Use only with great conviction and right diction. 

7. Geurae

Geurae has different meanings. It can mean ‘really’, ‘sure’, ‘alright’, and ‘then’.

Example A:
Friend: May I borrow your copy of BEAST‘s Beautiful Show DVD?
You: Geurae! Just return it in excellent condition.

Example B:
Friend: There’s this new Korean restau near our unit.
You: Oh, geurae? We should try it out soon!

PS: If you mean ‘really’, you may also use jinjja and geurae.

8. Juseyo~!

hqdefault

If you want something, ask it politely. Add ‘juseyo’ to your sentence.

Example:
*sudden food craving*
You: *tweets* Ugh. Bibimbap juseyo~
*want to see BEAST in the Philippines.
You: *tweets* @all4b2uty B2utyful Show in PH juseyo.

9. Aja aja! Fighting!hwaiting1

This expression is used when you want to cheer up someone. I remember Rain was saying this in ‘Full House*insert feels here*.

fighting

Example:
Teacher: Okay, answer page 154, 158, 190 and 200 of your book. Also, don’t forget your about our speech contest on May 23. Lastly, our Sportsfest is on May 22. That’s all.
Crush: Oh my gosh. I don’t think we can do this.
You: Noooo. We can do it! Aja aja! Fighting!

PS: Don’t forget to wink and the closed fist gesture! For more feels.

10. Wae?

Used in asking why. It is WAE and not WEH. Wae is why, and Weh is ‘really’, in the most insulting way.

Example:
Friend: I can’t make it on our bibimbap date.
You: WAEEEEE?
Friend: Because I want ramyeon instead.

BONUS: Saranghae!saranghae

I love you. Need I say more? 😛

Example:
*Watching BEAST’s Comeback Stage* *Yoseob focused*
You: *tweets* @all4b2uty Oppa! Oppa! Saranghae!

These are just some of the Korean cute expressions that I use in everyday conversations. Did I miss out some? Share to us Korean expressions that you use.

PS: For formal lessons on Korean language, check out KCC’s classes. 😛

Author’s note: Pictures are lifted from Google search. We do not own any picture used in this entry. Credit as tagged.

5 thoughts on “10 Korean Expressions in Daily Conversations

  1. kheycee

    Picture for #8 uses “Jebal” (I’ve watched this episode from K-WOW). “Jebal” and “juseyo” both mean please but are used in different situations.

    Fighting is more pronounced as “Hwaiting” (or sometimes “Paiting”) since the Korean alphabet has no letter “F”.

    …or I might be wrong since I am self-taught at the moment. Hahahaha. Feel free to correct me! 🙂

    Saranghae guys!

    Like

    1. Emyfer Mae

      Right right! 🙂

      Sorry, I used the picture for #8 because of the facial expression. ^^”

      Thank you very much for the heads up!

      Like

    2. Pandaren

      Actually “jebal” does literally means please, like “please stop” as for “juseyo” means give me something in a polite way something like “give me please something”.

      Hope I cleared that for you :)) i’m a KCC student in korean language 🙂

      goodluck on studying korean have fun!

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

