A night of K-pop performances: 2016 Pinoy Kpop Star Grand Finals

Loud cheers covered SM North EDSA Skydome last July 23 as the K-pop fans cheered for their favorite cover group and singers at this year’s 2016 Pinoy K-pop Star Grand Finals.

Among hundreds of hopefuls to audition, only 20 teams (10 vocal and 10 group performers) were given a chance to compete at the annual K-pop competition of Korean Cultural Center (KCC). Bringing home the grand prizes were EXOTIX for the performance category and Andrea Fe Padilla for the vocal category. Both secured a spot in representing the Philippines for the online semi-finals of KBS KPop World Festival.

“We would like to thank God for the talent as well as to our family for the support all throughout our journey; for being there through ups and downs. Also to the hard work of all the members, who put their effort and passion to make it to where we are now and to KCC for this once in a lifetime chance to make our dream come true. To everyone in the PH community for giving us cheers, words of encouragement and motivation, and of course to Exo for being our role models. This is just the beginning of our journey so please be with us again until the very end. EXOTIX Saranghaja,” EXOTIX’s message to their supporters.


The group is composed of Julliarne Christopher Trinidad, Jerville De Guzman, Leonal Madrigal, John Elmer Accion, Dennie Sanga, Mac Quijano, Rodvian Datu, Nino Cruz and Joshua Karangalan. The song “Monster” by popular K-pop group EXO became their ticket to success.

Meanwhile, Padilla‘s love for the Korea drama Descendants of the Sun (DOTS) paved her way in winning the grand prize for the vocal category. Padilla confessed that she only accidentally saw the Pinoy Kpop Star audition videos of the other contestants while searching for tutorial videos of ‘You are my everything’ theme song of DOTS.  Padilla thought of submitting her own audition piece since she will try to learn singing a Korean song. Padilla studied the song for three straight days before submitting her audition piece.


She bested the nine other contestants and won P30, 000 cash. Padilla will also represent the Philippines in the online semi-final round of the 2016 K-pop World Festival.

The three hour program was loaded with fantastic performances coming from the jam-packed line up starting with Val John, the Philippine representative for 2015 KBS Kpop world festival. Val John also served as the host of Pinoy Kpop Star.


ABS-CBN’s I love OPM grand prize winner Hwang Yohan serenaded the audience with his rendition of the Korean song “Every moment of you” from the hit Korean drama ‘My love from the star’. He also performed his winning piece at “I love OPM’s” competition “Huwag ka nang Umiyak” by Gary Valenciano.


My Foreignay Dance Diva and KCC K-pop dance instructor Dasuri Choi then fired the stage with her performance of “Why” by Taeyeon and “I like that” by Sistar.


Contestants for the vocal category are: Diana Tabitha Caro – I (Taeyeon), Paulo Nase – Half Moon (Dean), Kirsten Loresto – Re-bye (AkMu), Hergie Manlucot Talk Love (K. Will), LyKan Tell me what is love (Yoo Young Jin x D.O), Venisse Nicole Siy – Mind Your Own Business (Ailee), John Paul Soliva – Rhythm Ta (iKon), Samantha Isabelle Sta. Ana – Eat (Zion T.), Andrea Fe Padilla – You are my everything (Gummy), Jamie Rose Tote – My Star (Lee Hi).


Contestants for the performance category are: Birth of Stars – You’re the best (Mamamoo), Bangtan HD – Fire (BTS), Gfries – Glass Bead (Gfriend), Exotix – Monster (Exo), Class B – Dumb dumb (Red Velvet), Noxx – Chained Up (Vixx), SugarSpice – Cheer Up (Twice), Amigo7 –Fly (Got7), Campus Royalties – Ice Cream Cake (Red Velvet) and UNL7SHD – Fire (BTS).


Placing second for the vocal category was John Paul Soliva and Venisse Siy won third place. Soliva and Siy took home P 20, 000 and P 10, 000, respectively.

Bagging second place for the performance category was Amigo7 while cover group NOXX won third place. Both groups took home P 20, 000 and P 10, 000, respectively.

The judges for the competition were KCC Director OH Choong Suk; Rey Ilagan, Editor-in-Chief of Garage magazine; Hwang Yohan; Happee Sy-Go of Pulp Live World and Pulp magazine; Gigi Yia of Sparkling; K-musical actress Hong Namki; and Dasuri Choi.


Watch the highlights of the 2016 Pinoy K-Pop Star here:

Written by Krew Member: Mikay Javier


2 thoughts on “A night of K-pop performances: 2016 Pinoy Kpop Star Grand Finals

  1. Pingback: Fire Bts Dance Tutorial | purathrive reviews

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s