Spring In Seoul: 5 Simple Thrills In The City That Spark Joy

By AN Flores

Spring in Seoul is often associated with lanes and lanes of fully-bloomed cherry trees or shrubs of forsythia in all their golden glory. Excitement fills the air as winter’s gray transitions to a season heralded by a spectacle of nature’s vibrant colors. 

In Yeouido’s Han River Park, you might even chance upon picnic parties as revelers take shade under clouds of cherry blossoms or spread out mats on the fresh green grass to take in the warmth of the sun. 

But after the pink petals fall and the tiny yellow flowers wilt and turn brown, does the city just slip into the mundane for the rest of the season?

No, it does not. Well, at least, not in my experience. 

My memories of spring in Seoul might be pretty different from those who visited during the peak period between March and April, as I visited in the latter half of May. The trip, however, was nothing short of exciting, especially since it was my first time to travel to the South Korean capital. 

So if you’re visiting Seoul past cherry blossom season, don’t be bummed! There are still lots of things to see and do in the city that will *spark joy* for you. Here are some simple thrills that I wouldn’t forget about my first trip to Seoul in spring that you might want to try yourself, too:

Catch the cool springtime breeze from a rooftop bar

On my very first evening in Seoul, I decided to explore the uphill area of Itaewon, passing by the grand mosque and some quaint little shops that sold everything from flowers and thrifted clothes to pet accessories and vintage collectibles. 

It wasn’t too long until I wound up in a hip record bar called MMM Record. It was illuminated by neon lights from the inside and was almost empty just a few minutes past six PM. I ordered iced tea, and headed to the rooftop, and as soon as I opened the door, a stunning view of downtown Seoul met my eyes. 

The sun had just set, leaving a faint warm glow just behind Namsan and the famous N Seoul Tower. Lights punctured buildings that now looked like mere silhouettes. And the breeze… the soft yet cool late spring breeze that brushed my cheeks was a treat in itself. 

I sat down on a stool overlooking the city for a little while longer as I finished my glass of tea. 

See the fully bloomed roses at Myeongdong Cathedral

On the first Sunday of my trip, I made my way to Myeongdong Cathedral to attend the Holy Mass. 

As the heart of Catholicism in the country, the cathedral—officially known as The Cathedral of Our Lady of the Immaculate Conception—is where locals and foreigners alike come together to receive the blessed sacrament. Sunday masses here are held in both Korean and English. 

The imposing gothic revival structure, situated in the corner of a busy shopping district, is quite a sight to see, but the steps leading to it, accentuated by bunches upon bunches of fully bloomed red roses, are true stunners in their own right. 

They were so beautiful, I couldn’t help but snap some photos with the cathedral in the background! 

Quench your thirst at the oldest bookshop in Seoul

One of my favorite places in Seoul is Dae-oh Bookstore. 

Considered the oldest bookshop in all of the city, it has been around since the early 1950s. Today, it no longer sells books but refreshments to those exploring the historic Jong-no area, specifically the neighborhood of Seochon. 

Taking a walking tour around this area is always a good idea, but it sure can make you thirsty, especially when it’s nearly summer and the higher temperatures stretch on for much longer throughout the day. I had run out of water that warm spring day, so I was fortunate to have reached Dae-oh Bookstore just in time for my merienda

This hanok-turned-bookshop-turned-cafe is pretty popular among K-pop fans after serving as the location for photoshoots of big stars like IU and BTS’ RM. 

In the few times I visited. It was hardly ever too crowded, though, and getting a seat had never been an issue. Usually, I’d take a spot near the small courtyard, but on my first visit, I sat down at the farthest table from the entrance, right next to the wall, then transferred to a bench in front of the window facing the street, so I could watch people pass by the shop as I sipped on my cold yuja cha, the intoxicating scent of old books lingering in the air. 

Enjoy limited-time spring special treats

Seasonal treats are a definite must-try when you visit Seoul in spring!

From snacks to beverages to ice cream (like what I was having in the photo)—try everything you can get a hold of, or even take home some goodies for your folks to taste! 

I remember getting a box of Crown’s couque d’asse cookies in cherry blossom flavor. Pepero also releases cherry blossom-flavored chocolate-coated biscuit sticks. 

Attend an open-air music festival

The highlight of my first trip to Seoul is, perhaps, attending the Seoul Jazz Festival. 

Typically held in May at the Olympic Park, it brings together musical acts from all over the world to share their love for jazz music with festival goers. 

From early morning until after dark, I was in the company of new friends as we witnessed the live performances of Day6, Heize, headliner Jessie J, and more. 

That night ended for me with a flurry of white confetti—some in the shape of butterflies—as my personal favorite, Nell, closed their set with 12 Seconds

It was one of the best concerts I’ve attended to date. 

Is there a unique springtime activity you’d like to add to your future Seoul itinerary? Share it with us in the comments!

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.